Connect with us


World Cup 2022: Ronaldo’s penalty should’ve been overturned by VAR – Ex-EPL referee



Former English Premier League referee, Mike Dean, says the Video Assistant Referee (VAR) should have overturned Portugal’s penalty against Ghana in Thursday’s 2022 World Cup game

Cristiano Ronaldo received a penalty after Mohammed Salisu made the least amount of touch with him during the match, according to American referee Ismail Elfath.

Elfath should have been given the opportunity to examine the event at the pitch side Video Assistant Referee (VAR) monitor, according to Mike Dean, but that was not done.

Despite his propensity to support officials, he claimed he could not justify the decision to award Portugal the penalty.

“The VAR, in my opinion, should have gotten involved, should’ve invited the referee over to have a look at it,” Mike Dean told beIN Sports after the game.

He continued, “I like to back referees all the time but you can’t support stuff like that. You can’t defend the undefendable.

“For me it should’ve been overturned, he should’ve gone to the screen…100% it was wrong.”

Otto Addo, the head coach of Ghana, also bemoaned the referee’s conduct and referred to the penalty as a gift from Ismail Elfath.

Moving forward, Ghana will concentrate on their Group H matchup against South Korea on Monday.

READ ALSO  Medeama SC's Fatawu Hamidu Replaces Baba Rahman Ahead Of Ghana-Liberia Friendly