Connect with us

News

Referee who Officiated Argentina vs France World Cup final match Admits he made a mistake

Published

on

zymon Marciniak, the referee who took charge of the 2022 World Cup final, has admitted he made a mistake during the game between Argentina and France.

Marciniak became the first official from Poland to oversee the biggest game in world football last Sunday.

He has since received plenty of applause from pundits and fans for his performance Among Marciniak’s highlights were three rightfully awarded penalties and booking French striker Marcus Thuram for diving without consulting VAR.

Following the Argentina vs France World Cup finals the polish referee issued a total of seven yellow cards, with Albacete receiving four and France receiving three, as well as three penalties awarded after 90 minutes of action.

The total number of fouls and offsides that appeared at the referee’s final whistles of extra time was 45 and 8, respectively.

However, the 41-year-old has conceded it was not a perfect performance for him.

“Of course, there were mistakes in this final,” he told Sport.PL.

“I interrupted the French counter-attack after a bad tackle by Marcos Acuna.

“I was afraid that the fouled player wanted to unwind, and I read it wrong because nothing happened, and you could give an advantage and then come back with a card.

“It’s hard. In a game like this, I take such a mistake in the dark. The important thing is that there were no big mistakes.

READ ALSO  Qatar 2022: Ghana Will Surprise Everyone At The World Cup – Nigerian Prophet Drops Chilling Prophecy; See Details

Trending

x